September 22, 2007

Why I Love U2.

Posted in Media at 5:46 pm by Caleb Winn

I was driving down the road the other day, and I heard When Love Comes To Town, by U2 feat. BB King. I’m amazed at the power and truth of their lyrics. An example:

I was there when they crucified my Lord
I held the scabbard when the soldier drew his sword
I threw the dice when they pierced his side
But I’ve seen love conquer the great divide

At work the next day, I was thrilled to discover that Popmart was recently released on DVD! They don’t play this particular song (sorry Phillip!) but it’s full of glitz and glam and a gigantic, 60-foot lemon. It’s well worth watching. And U2 is a band well worth loving. =)

3 Comments »

  1. The Grand Inquisitor said,

    Wait a minute. I’ve not seen it yet, but the track listing on Amazon doesn’t include “When Love Comes to Town.” What’s up with that? You just felt like referencing Rattle and Hum in the same post?

  2. Caleb Winn said,

    No, I should apologize. I wrote the post about When Love Comes To Town, and then I also thought I would mention that I bought Popmart, and so edited that information into my original post. I realize now that it was really unclear.

  3. Phillip Winn said,

    You’re confusing random net passers-by!

    That’s a Rattle and Hum track, btw, if you really do want it on DVD. Slightly odd film, but well worth watching.


Leave a Reply

